Cannabis News Archive

Ganja in Jamaica Project      Books and Articles      Legal Archive      Cultural/Social Commentaries      News Archive      Report
SEPTEMBER – DECEMBER
MAY – AUGUST
JANUARY – APRIL
Saturday, October 27, 2001
Three foreigners among four held for cocaine, ganja
Jamaican Observer 

Friday, October 19, 2001
Cops say more resources needed to monitor shoreline

Observer Reporter 

Wednesday, October 17, 2001
$1.25-b drugs bust
Hi-tech equipment, boat and map of South America also seized in Westmoreland

Jamaica Observer

Wednesday, September 5, 2001
Ganja: crucial line now drawn

By DENNIS FORSYTHE
Jamaica Observer

Tuesday, September 04, 2001
Anti-ganja laws archaic, says doctor

Jamaica Observer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday, August 25, 2001
Theology and ganja
Revd ERNLE GORDON
Jamaica Observer

Wednesday, July 25, 2001
St. Elizabeth Farmer Chopped To Death During Ganja Dispute
X News Jamaica

Monday, April 16, 2001
Smokers may sue – Cancer society contemplates legal action against tobacco industry

By PAT ROXBOROUGH
Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, April 16, 2001
One-third of Crime Stop callers give info about guns, gunmen

Jamaica Observer

Monday, April 16, 2001
Lawbreaker Says Compassion First

Windsor Star (CN ON)

Saturday, April 14, 2001
Neglecting the farmer is suicidal

Jamaica Observer

Monday, April 09, 2001
Mexican Drug Lords Seeking New Cartel

By AMPARO TREJO
Washington Post

Friday, April 06, 2001
Drug smuggling complicates Caribbean textile business

By ERIC HEISLER
Greensboro News & Record

Friday, April 06, 2001
Ganja found at tower street prision

Radio Jamaica

Friday, April 6, 2001
Crime is out of control, not the police

Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, April 05, 2001
Poor political culture

Jamaica Observer

Wednesday, April 4, 2001
Truth, justice & the rule of law

By DELROY CHUCK
Jamaica Gleaner

Wednesday, April 4, 2001
The police and the people

By ALFRED SANGSTER
Jamaica Gleaner

Wednesday, April 04, 2001
Three feared dead after failed ganja mission

Jamaica Observer

Sunday, April 1, 2001
Editorial – Looking anew at the drug war
Jamaica Gleaner

Saturday, March 31, 2001
Hickling defies the odds – UWI’s head psychiatrist reflects on turbulent years at inaugural lecture

By EULALEE THOMPSON
Jamaica Gleaner

Saturday, March 31, 2001
More than $9m worth of drugs seized by cops Thursday

Jamaica Observer

Friday, March 30, 2001
‘Toots’ to sue Chris Blackwell

By BASIL WALTERS 
Jamaica Observer

Thursday, March 29, 2001
Growing Crime Shadows Caribbean’s Tourist Playground

By JIM LONEY
Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel (FL)

Wednesday, March 28, 2001
Jamaican drug fugitive released

Radio Jamaica .com

Wednesday, March 28, 2001
Rastafarian participation 

Jamaica Gleaner

Wednesday, March 28, 2001
Ganja lands nurse in prison

Jamaica News

Wednesday, March 28, 2001
Bush Conflicted on Pot Legalization
By ANN COMPTON and BRIAN HARTMAN
ABCNews

Sunday, March 25, 2001
‘This is bigger than us’
By GARWIN DAVIS
Jamaica Glean 

Saturday, March 24, 2001
No US drug policy for Carib yet 

By LLOYD WILLIAMS
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, March 22, 2001
A corageous stand on drugs

Vancouver Sun (CN BC) 

Thursday, March 22, 2001
What the law cannot do
By MARTIN HENRY
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, March 22, 2001
Lords back cannabis use

BBC News (UK)

Wednesday, March 21, 2001
DPP completes analysis of wiretapping/drug trafficking probe

Radio Jamaica.com

Tuesday, March 20, 2001
Fox: legalized drugs may be solution

By JOHN RICE
Houston Chronicle (TX)

Monday, March 19, 2001
Harsh Realities of Drug Trafficking 
ABC News.com

Sunday, March 18, 2001
203 Jamaicans die violently since start of 2000
Caribbean News Agency

‘TRAFFIC’ fires up U.S. debate
By FRANK DAVIES
Ventura County Star (CA)

Wednesday, March 14, 2001
The opiates of the masses… and the war they’ve provoked
By Christopher Caldwell
The Wall Street Journal

Tuesday, March 13, 2001
Children at risk
Jamaica Gleaner

Tuesday, March 13, 2001
Caribbean churches join anti-drug fight
Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, March 12, 2001
Jamaica tops region in cocaine transshipment
Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, March 12, 2001
Tarnishing Jamaica’s image

Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, March 12, 2001
Bermuda jails cruiseship worker for drug smuggling
Caribbean News Agency

Friday, March 09, 2001
Caribbean hampered on drug flow
Associated Press

Friday, March 9, 2001
Effects of ganja on the nerves
By Dr. A.J. MORGAN
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, March 08, 2001
Senate votes to OK study of industrial hemp

By JOHN CHEVES
Lexington Herald-Leader (KY)

Monday, March 05, 2001
U.S. report highlights Caribbean drug corridor
Caribbean News Agency

Monday, March 5, 2001
Searching through the drug report
By STEPHEN VASCIANNIE
Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, March 05, 2001
Letter of the Day – Neglecting our history
Jamaica Gleaner

Friday, March 02, 2001
U.S. anti-drug report denounced

The Register-Guard / Associated Press

Friday, March 2, 2001
Escaped convict caught with drugs

Caribbean News Agency

Friday, March 2, 2001
Ja gets US certification for anti-drug fight
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, March 1, 2001
Police destroy over 5 acres of ganja in St Elizabeth
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, March 1, 2001
Gala dinner in honour of Marley
By JUSTIN WHYTE 
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, March 1, 2001
Opposed to decriminalizing state drug laws
Watertown Daily Times (NY) 

Wednesday, February 28, 2001
Garvey film receives Garveyite’s support
By JUSTIN WHYTE 

Jamaica Gleaner

Tuesday, February 27, 2001
Ganja Commission to move into second phase
RadioJamaica.com

Tuesday, February 27, 2001
Sacrificial Lamb

Orthodox Rabbi Yitzchak Fried Could Do Hard Time for Medical Marijuana

By ANDREW FRIEDMAN
The Village Voice

Monday, February 26, 2001
What would I smoke?
By MATTHEW J. ROSENBERG
Associated Press

Monday, February 26, 2001
D.A.R.E. needed to admit its flaws

Quad-City Times (IA) /The Deseret News, Salt Lake City, Utah

Sunday, February 25, 2001
No ‘conversion’ for Bob Marley
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, February 22, 2001
Beenie Man wins Grammy

By ANDREW CLUNIS
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, February 22, 2001
Another international honour for Bob Marley
By ANDREW CLUNIS 
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, february 22, 2001
UN board lauds anti-drug drive
Jamaica Gleaner

Wednesday, february 21, 2001
Contradictions of Rastafarianism
By PETER ESPEUT
Jamaica Gleaner

Wednesday, February 21, 2001
Africa and the Biblical record
Jamaica Gleaner

Tuesday, February 20, 2001
3 J’cans on FBI’s ‘most wanted’ list
By GLENROY SINCLAIR
Jamaica Gleaner

Tuesday, February 20, 2001
SAJ condemns drug trafficking
Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, February 19, 2001
Top Jamaican cop reports threat on his life
Caribbean News Agency

Monday, February 19, 2001
‘I can do anything an MBA can’ – Reformed Criminal’s Moment Of Truth
By CHARLIE GILLIS
National Post (Canada)

Monday, February 19, 2001
Movie about U.S. drug war gets it right
By RUBEN ROSARIO
St. Paul Pioneer Press (MN)

Monday, February 19, 2001
We can differentiate between hemp, marijuana
By LOUIE B. NUNN, former Kentucky Governor
Lexington Herald-Leader (KY)

Wednesday, February 14, 2001
Chevannes defends UWI
Jamaica Gleaner

Wednesday, February 14, 2001
Shipping association condemns drug trafficking
Radio Jamaica .com

Tuesday, February 13, 2001
Jamaica police make second drug bust in four days
Caribbean News Agency

Monday, February 12, 2001
$1.5b ganja find – Two container-loads at Gordon Cay
By OMAR ANDERSON
Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, February 12, 2001
Another big drug haul

Observer Reporter

Sunday, February 11, 2001
Marijuana theory challenged
Jamaica Gleaner

Saturday, February 10, 2001
Big ganja find at Kgn Wharves
Jamaica Gleaner

Saturday, February 10, 2001
Drug Abuse Part 3 – The dangers of crack cocaine
By Reverend STEPHEN-CLAUDE HYATT
Jamaica Gleaner

Tuesday, February 06, 2001
Session questions drug interdiction policies
By SEAN REILLY
Mobile Register (AL)

Monday, February 05, 2001
Ja. assists in smashing major drug organisation

Radio Jamaica .com

Sunday, February 04, 2001
Jail drug dealers for 40 years – Jamaican minister
Caribbean News Agency

Saturday, February 03, 2001
A REAL BUST – DEA Stretches The Truth In A Hemispheric Drug Ring.
The Hawk Eye (IA)

Friday, February 02, 2001
Cannabis bill set to fail

BBC News (UK)

Friday, February 02, 2001
Female ganja network head offered bail

Radio Jamaica .com

Friday, February 02, 2001
Two arrested and ganja destroyed
Radio Jamaica .com

Friday, February 02, 2001
Security forces told to be wary of drug traffickers
Radio Jamaica .com

Thursday, February 01, 2001
No market yet for ganja-based eye drug
By EULALEE THOMPSON
Jamaica Gleaner 

Thursday, February 01, 2001
Sniffer dogs graduate
Jamaica Gleaner

Thursday, February 01, 2001
DEA figures for drug operation exaggerated
By LENNY SAVINO
Ft. Worth Star-Telegram (TX)

Tuesday, January 30, 2001
Twelve Months in the Life of Marijuana Prohibition

The Year In Pot

by KEVIN NELSON
The Village Voice

Monday, January 29, 2001
Seeing through ganja
By EULALEE THOMPSON
Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, January 29, 2001
Hairdresser held for weed
Kingston Times

Sunday, January 28, 2001
Big marijuana find in Barbados
Caribbean News Agency (CANA)

Saturday, January 27, 2001
Bush urged to hang tough in drug war
By MICHAEL HEDGES
Houston Chronicle (TX)

Thursday, January 25, 2001
Beating drug addiction
Jamaica Gleaner

January 24-30 edition, 2001
Ganja Impairs Driving Ability Researchers Claim

X-News Online

Monday, January 22, 2001
In defence of Rasta
Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, January 22, 2001
From the police blotters
Jamaica Gleaner

Saturday, January 20, 2001
Ganja in the prisons
Jamaica Gleaner

Tuesday, February 20, 2001
Latest victim of globalization: Jamaica’s marijuana crop

By MATTHEW J. ROSENBERG
Associated Press

Saturday, January 20, 2001
No escape: Mercer goes to Jamaica to nab drug suspect
By TOM FERNANDEZ
The Trentonian, NJ

Saturday, January 20, 2001
Toke me to your leader
By JANE SEYD
The Vancouver Sun, BC, CN

Friday, January 19, 2001
National Leadership Prayer Breakfast 2001 – Jamaica called ‘chaos’
Jamaica Gleaner

Friday, January 19, 2001
A man for the people
By OMAR ANDERSON
Jamaica Gleaner

Wednesday, January 17, 2001
Nun’s killers were criminally insane
Jamaica Gleaner

Wednesday, January 17, 2001
In defence of Rastas
Jamaica Gleaner

Monday, January 15, 2001
Letter of the Day The deafening silence of Rastas
Jamaica Gleaner

Tuesday, January 16, 2001
New machine will help customs agents search containers

Virginia-Pilot

Monday, January 15, 2001
Call to remove rasta law in BVI
Caribbean News Agency

Sunday, January 14, 2001
BVI urged to remove rasta law
Caribbean News Agency

Saturday, January 13, 2001
An era of justice
By BARBARA BLAKE-HANNAH
Jamaica Gleaner

Saturday, January 13, 2001
UK minister apologises to Jamaica for remarks
Caribbean News Agency

Saturday, January 13, 2001
Legalization is wrong solution for young people’s drug use
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (MO)

Wednesday, January 10, 2001
Is weed really illegal?
Jamaica Gleaner

Sunday, January 7, 2001
Mother, twin brother of KPH shooting victim arrested
Jamaica Gleaner

Sunday, January 07, 2001
Catholics and Rastafarians in St. Lucia worship separately after attack
Boston Globe

Sunday, January 07, 2001
Attack points to “lethal” mix of religion, rebellion, drugs
By MARK FINEMAN
Los Angeles Times

Thursday, January 4, 2001
St Catherine woman imprisoned, fined for ganja

By LINCOLN WARD
Jamaica Observer

Thursday, January 04, 2001
Can ganja make you mad?

By BYRON BUCKLEY
Jamaica Observer